nest of tables…

Nest of tables….

before I started
before I started

I stumbled across this nest of tables on a local facebook buy/sell page. They sang to me, calling out for me to take them home and re-invent them. So, for the princely sum of $20, I did.

I picked them up from a lovely lady who told me the sad story of both her elderly parents dying within 4 months of each other of cancer, and how her father used these tables daily. I assured her they were coming home with me to carry on that use. It touched me, to hear their provenance, and I made a little vow to keep some of their originality intact to stand testimony to the life they had before me.

As they were made of a laminate, I made a (by this point becoming very regular) trip to our local Resene to have a chat about the best way to paint these. I came out with a few testpots in pastel shades, and a can of Resene Smooth Surface Sealer. A quick coat of that and I was ready to go

.smoothsealerduring

The tables were all taped up and ready to go and I went at them with enthusiasm….possibly a bit TOO much enthusiasm. I neglected to wait an adequate period between coats of paint which let to a late night stripping session….probably not the kind you’re thinking of, and definitely not the kind my husband would have preferred. I wish I had taken photos of the bubbly uneven mess I had created to share with you, but I was too busy getting vindictive with a scraper. Attempt #2 went more according to plan, and I’m really happy with the way they’ve turned out. They are the perfect link between two areas in the main living zone in our house – they bring the colours from our TV lounge through to the sitting area with the grey, gold and white and echo the strong geometric shapes in softer colours which tie through into the kitchen. Funny how such a small object can bring balance in such a subtle way!

aftergeometric shapes....hints of metallics....pastels....talk about mixing current trends! I think it works in this in case x

And in case you’re wondering – I kept the gold and woodgrain veneer trim in tribute to their past owners, and hope that they approve of the new lease of life their nest of tables have been given.

4 thoughts on “nest of tables…

    1. Thank you so much Andrea! It really is easy – these tables are far from perfect but the beauty of it is that if I get bored I can just re-do them. There’s no wrong! As long as you love it, that’s all that matters xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

