On decorating….

On decorating:

I LOVE decorating! I’m constantly seeing new things and new ideas and wondering where I could use them in my house. I can’t imagine ever living in a home that’s not a work in progress, with a dozen different plans zinging around in my head.

Our home is 2 years old. We built it and I love it. For the first wee while I was happy to just ‘be’ in our new home, settling in and getting used to the rhythms of our new life. Soon though, the white walls get me twitching. It just seems like a huge invitation to me…and we wonder why children draw on walls!

I do go slowly though, and focus on what goes into a room rather than what goes on the walls. I think that’s probably my top tip for decorating a room with a young family – keep it simple and add touches that will be easy to change as the kids grow. You put so much into designing a room, and it would break my heart to spend 3 months planning a unicorn-fairy-princess-ballerina (Miss 4’s current obsession…and no, it’s not 4 separate things. Apparently it’s one being and Mummy’s job to source it. Sigh) bedroom, only for her to grow out of it 3 weeks later when she moves on to a horse riding squirrel named Elsa. (Also a burgeoning obsession. Seriously.) It’s far easier for me to design her room around a colour palette and add and subtract objects/duvet covers/pictures on the latest and greatest than to change the whole room every time she (or, to be more accurate, I) get sick of it.

I am playing with ideas at the moment for the hallway and an overhaul of Mr 3’s bedroom, I’d like to finish off our living room, jazz up the playroom, do something spectacular in our laundry (after all, why should the room I detest being in the most, but seem to spend the most time in look good?), change it up in our kitchen and change the curtains in our bedroom. It seems like a long list! And I haven’t even started on the garden….

Tell me it’s not just me?! Other people do this too, right?

 "Tjallem Plastic enamel pic2" by Alf van Beem - Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Zero, Public Domain Dedication via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Tjallem_Plastic_enamel_pic2.JPG#mediaviewer/File:Tjallem_Plastic_enamel_pic2.JPG

“Tjallem Plastic enamel pic2” by Alf van Beem – Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Zero, Public Domain Dedication via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Tjallem_Plastic_enamel_pic2.JPG#mediaviewer/File:Tjallem_Plastic_enamel_pic2.JPG
Leave a Reply

