A to Z….

I read Dani’s version of this on her beautiful Viva la Vector website (and if you haven’t checked her out, make sure you do….I seriously love her site with all the beautiful things, and a few of them have made their way into my home! The quality is fantastic and I guarantee you’ll be happy too). I thought I’d give it a go, but didn’t realise just how revealing it would be…

If you were an ANIMAL, what would you be?
Ok, straight in….I think, given my current state of being, I’d probably be a 3-toed sloth (no, I don’t have only three toes but I do have definite sloth tendencies!) or a cat – being fed, lying around sleeping in the sun all day….sounds like bliss to me!

BOOKS – what is on your reading list?
I love reading. I always have one or two books on the go. At the moment I’m finishing Jodi Picoult’s latest, but I’m going back to classics after this and tackling War and Peace. Seriously.

COMPULSIVE about anything?

I don’t know if I’m compulsive about anything…I just like to have things the right way (AKA: my way) although I do get a bit twitchy if I’m things aren’t done right. I don’t know if that fits more in the ‘compulsive’ basket or the ‘control freak’ one. (I can just imagine my husband and friends reading this right now…yes, I know….it’s totally the control freak basket.)

DREAMS – Do you… dream in colour? Remember your dreams? Keep a dream journal?
I definitely dream in colour and I usually remember my dreams. I was just reading something recently about Thomas Edison and how he believed that the period between sleeping and waking (called hypnagogia if you want to learn about it) is where our dreams tap into our creativity. He would sit in a chair surrounded by tin pie dishes and holding ball bearings. As he drifted into sleep, he’d drop the bearings, waking him up and then he’d record what he had been dreaming about in those moments. It’s an interesting notion – especially when you consider what a prolific inventor Thomas Edison was!

EATING – what’s your usual snack?
I’m all about chips. They are totally my down-fall. I have recently found enough strong will to stop buying them as I was getting into a really bad habit, so now I just make myself a cup of tea instead.

Just a few of your FAVOURITE things…
Well, OBVIOUSLY my children and husband. I love being all on my own, and I love being surrounded by friends. I love being snuggled up in bed on a rainy night with a good book, and I love sitting out in the sunshine watching my children run riot. I love writing and I love SHOPPING! I love when my house is silent and when it’s filled with loud music and the sound of all five of us laughing. (and peonies, caramel slice, straight lines (I know that one’s a little weird, and maybe in belongs in the ‘compulsions’ section, but there’s something very calming about a straight line!), watermelon, wine, family, and Ella Fitzgerald)

GIGGLES! What (or who) makes you laugh? Do you have a good sense of humour?
I think I have an awesome sense of humour. Not sure anyone else agrees though. I get the giggles over the silliest things, but I can be a little dense about jokes…it takes me a while to ‘get’ them.

My kids make me laugh: they have got the most wicked laughs and even when I should be telling them off, sometimes I can’t help but laugh along with them.

Strange things make me laugh: (sorry guys because I know this will make you cringe), but nut-shots always make me laugh. There’s something very comedic in seeing a grown man doubled over grabbing at his crotch! This one is going to make me sound absolute evil, but electrocution makes me (inappropriately) giggle. I think it’s a throw back to watching too many Tom and Jerry and Wile.E Coyote shows when I was little!

Major HOT button…
I can be a bit cranky, so I’ll just keep this to minimum….stupid people in the supermarket (keep your trolley to one side of the aisle people!!). John Key (sorry to any National supporters, but he really rubs me up the wrong way), and the weather guy on the news – I end up yelling at the TV every night!

Bigger issues though – stupidity, prejudice (I don’t care what colour you are, who you’d rather sleep with, if you’re male or female, or what version of which god you worship), and brutality….those will all get me going. Why can’t we just be friends?!

I am…
Tired. Seriously. 100% of the time, I’m tired. But there’s just so much I want to do!  I have all these plans rushing through my mind at any given moment, the trick is finding the time (and energy) to do them all.

Also KNOWN as… aliases? screen names? a nom de plume perhaps?
I don’t have nicknames. My babies call me Mum, Mummy, Mama (and probably a few more behind my back that I don’t know about). My name is Leigh-ann, but I often get business phone calls for Dorothy (as in dorothy nada) and I happily answer to that as well. 🙂

I LOVE…
How do I even start to narrow this down? I love family, friends, travel, driving my husband crazy (I’m telling you, poor long-suffering man), beautiful flowers, sleeping in, good music, helping people, and cuddles.

How do you feel about MEETING people?
I love meeting people! I think I’m like an over-excited puppy and just expect everyone to love me! What’s not to love? 😉

What’s the story of your NAME?
I don’t really know! I know that I grew up spelling it out all the time as it’s an unusual way of spelling it, (Leigh-ann as opposed to Leanne) so I always said that my children would have names that are easy to spell.

OBSERVANT – what is around you right now? What do you see?
I’m sitting at the bench in my kitchen writing this, so there’s all the usual kitchen stuff along with 2 drawings made by my children while I’ve been writing,an empty tea cup, a potato-in-jar growing experiment we started a few days ago (which is meant to take 2 weeks, but I’m not sure I can handle having them on my bench for that long) and a freshly delivered carton of stock for my website.

Who are the special PEOPLE in your life?
my babies, my husband, our families and my closest friends. I’m not going to name them all, but they know who they are – I tell them I love them all the time!

Any little QUIRKS about yourself?
I like to tap pens, but it drives me crazy if anyone else does it. I have to have a piece of gum or a mint when I start to drive. I can’t let songs or tunes go unfinished, so my husband will often start a tune or beat because he knows that I just have to finish it. (Maybe he gives as good as he gets!)

What do you like to do for RECREATION?
HA HA!! What now?! I have 3 children, a business, a blog, I’m on the kindy committee, the school committee AND the board of trustees….recreation? Well, I quite like sleep. I’d quite like lots more sleep.

Do you SING in the shower? In the car? For your friends?
I sing at home, in the shower, in the car….but never where people could actually hear it. No….just, no. I’m not one of those people who would appear on a TV talent show looking absolutely shocked that the judges don’t like their singing. I know I suck, but I just like singing! I don’t believe in inflicting it on others though.

What’s at the top of your TO DO list?
Pick up the boy. He’s at school and I’m due to leave in 5 minutes to get him…I’m not going to get this finished in 5 minutes and I can’t stand leaving writing unfinished….it’s a quandary!

Any UNUSUAL experiences?
Hmmm….I think that buying my business was kind of an unusual experience. I wasn’t looking for a business. I was a counsellor before I had children and just assumed I’d go back to that once they were all in school, but I woke up one morning and had a nagging voice in my head that just wouldn’t leave me alone telling me to look at the businesses for sale on Trade Me. (I didn’t even know there were businesses for sale on trade me!). Eventually I gave in and had a look and dorothy nada was the first business on there. So I bought it. Well, it wasn’t quite that straightforward, but that’s what happened! It was my biggest impulse buy ever. No buyer’s remorse though!

VEGAS, Vienna, Venice, Vladivostok… How far have you travelled? What’s your favourite city?
I was born in Scotland and we moved to New Zealand when I was small. Going back and forth to visit family usually means an interesting stopover or two. I spent some time in Japan when I was younger and a year in Canada too. My husband and I travelled a fair bit around Europe just after we got engaged. I love travelling! Favourites? Hmm…Edinburgh definitely, and Venice. And (and this one is a little bit random), San Antonio in Texas is one of my favs, and I loved Boston too. My feet are getting itchy… 🙂

WINTER, spring, summer, autumn… which is your favourite season? What makes it special?
There’s parts of every season that I love. What’s not to love about summer? I love the heat and the sun, the kids playing outside, barbeques.  Autumn is just so pretty, and there’s nothing better than being all safe and warm at home on a cold winter’s day – and you get to dig out scarves and coats…it’s all about the accessories people! Spring = lambs and daffodils and the hint of good things to come.

EXES…

I’m incredibly lucky in that there aren’t too many exes lurking in my closet. One that I’m in touch with occasionally now and one that I will never hear from again…which is, frankly, no great loss. We live and learn!

Any secret/deep YEARNINGS?
Does a holiday in an over-water bungalow in Tahiti all by myself count? Seriously though, I have so many plans and directions in which I’d like to go, that all I really need is time and energy. And an endless supply of funds!

ZERO to ZENITH – where are you in your life? Still growing? On an upward (or downward) curve? Just skating along?
I feel like I’m getting close to where I can see the half way mark on my little life continuum…I’m definitely feeling like I’m on an upward curve. As I’ve mentioned before, we had our children very close together which made for a very crazy few years. Now I feel like life is both gaining momentum and slowing down at the same time. In so many ways, you just get busier as the kids get older, but you also start to get that space back for yourself. At least a tiny bit. Throwing my business in the mix has meant that I have something new and exciting to focus on and there’s always something else to learn and something else to figure out, but it’s a really good busy-ness! Loving life!

Do you have a blog? Why not have a go at this yourself, leave a link in the comments – I’d love to have a read!

4 thoughts on “A to Z….

  1. What about pipes behind toilets? Can’t believe you left that out – that’s the most quirky thing about you – and it’s pretty cool ! Great blog mrs tired

    Like

Leave a Reply

