Guest blogger: Natasha from Sweet Mama M

The lovely Natasha from Sweet Mama M had a post recently about 30 things she’d like to do before she turns 30. One of those things was to guest post on 10 different blogs and I thought I can help with that! (Psst…one of them was to buy from NZ businesses for gift occasions….I can also help with that nudge nudge wink wink. I sent her through a list of questions (some of them sourced by our facebook likers) and here’s what she had to say…

Tell us all about you/your blog
SweetMamaM.com is a lifestyle blog that explores (sometimes with brutal honesty) what life is like being a wife and mother in 21st century New Zealand. As well as opinion pieces on various hot-button parenting issues and diary-style entries about our sweet son CJ, we also feature blog posts on food and dining, travel and entertainment and product reviews relevant to our family. I’m the chief foodie of our family which creates a bit of a conflict with trying to get in shape after the birth of our son. CJ is an active wee 8-month-old button who loves people. His interests include dinosaurs, The Moe Show and Wriggle & Rhyme classes. He’s currently got a passion for garlic pita bread! Papa M is the tech-lover of the family. He loves basketball (especially the NBA), rock music & dining out. Exploring the world, whether it is our local community or planning travel further afield has always been a passion of the M household and it continues to be, even with the arrival of our son. We’re so excited to head away for our first family holiday soon and we’re already planning international and domestic travel for next year.
How long have you been blogging?
Six years! I had one blog previous to this but felt I needed a complete change in direction once my focus was on marriage and children.

Who’s your favourite character in a novel?
Fiona Finnegan from Jennifer Donnelly’s The Tea Rose series. She’s an amazing role model as a female business owner in a time where that was clearly not the norm, a compassionate heart with a will of steel.

What part of your home do you love the most?
Our deck! We’re currently renting our home and there are definitely a few issues that frustrate me but are beyond my ability to repair. We’re pretty lucky, however, to have an amazing deck and I’m looking forward to making the most of that in summer.

If you could redesign one room in your house, which would it be and why? What would you change?
The kitchen! Oh my gosh, the lack of logic in putting together this kitchen astounds me. There’s no pantry and the layout provides for a lot of dead/unusable space. We rent, so there’s very little we can do but we’ve installed a microwave bracket to increase bench space and have got one of the ubiquitous white cupboards sitting in what would be the dining area (if it was large enough to fit a dining table) in which to store our food. What would I change? Everything. Honestly, I’d rip it out and start again, putting in a pantry for a start. I love spending time in the kitchen so it will be top of the list when we look to buy our first home.

What do you consider to be your best achievement?
Getting my full registration as a teacher after almost four years. It usually takes the average teacher two years, but in my first four years of teaching I had two long-term relief contracts (less than a year each and the first school did not support me as required in the registration process), a marriage, depression & anxiety after the death of my mother and then a challenging pregnancy to contend with. Getting the news at 28 weeks pregnant that my application had been accepted was one of the highlights of my year, second only to finding out I was going to have a baby!

What do you do that’s just for you?
I read! My husband works long hours and we don’t have family nearby so it is really hard for me to make it to dance classes or yoga classes, which used to be my “me time”. I like nothing more than curling up in bed with a good book (well, half the time it’s my iPad – but a good book regardless) and transporting myself to another world, one where I don’t have to think about the mountain of laundry to be folded.

What are the top 5 things that people are most ‘surprised’ to find out about once they get to know you?

  • That I’m a blogger! My friend’s husband reads my blog and he said he would never have guessed I blogged if his wife hadn’t told him.
  • That I’m a bit of a sci-fi nerd – totally blame this on my parents. The Empire Strikes Back was the first movie I was allowed to stay up late and watch. Star Wars, Trek, Gate – love them all.
  • That I’m a Christian. I believe in God as a higher power but I believe that as adults and human beings we are all free to believe (or not believe) whatever we choose and I’m not going to judge you for it.
  • That I trained in ballet for nine years – it got to the point where the next step was going to be extremely expensive and I decided enough was enough. My parents said that they would support me if it was my dream and… it really wasn’t. I don’t regret the years I spent on ballet – it was a huge part of my life and it was a heck of a lot of fun.
  • That I don’t eat egg. I really wish I did! It’s so easy and economical. I cook it for my husband and my son but I can’t eat it if it tastes or has the texture of anything like an egg. I can have it disguised in cakes, biscuits, etc, but on its own? Retch. Every single time.

10556496_677638268977406_4253817727804525374_n

Thank you for being a guest blogger on dorothy nada Natasha! We’ve loved learning more about you x

3 thoughts on “Guest blogger: Natasha from Sweet Mama M

  1. What a fabulous interview! Natasha is one of the funniest, most caring and interesting individuals I’ve ever met. (She’s also organised beyond belief!) And how funny, I didn’t know she felt that way about eggs… ME TOO!

    Like

    1. What a lovely friend you are! And it’s so funny the way these little interviews reveal so many of the little things – I did an a-z get to know me blog last week and had friends coming up to me all week (including some who’ve known me for years) saying “I didn’t know….” Very funny!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

