On Storage….Part I

On Storage….(part one)

It doesn’t matter how big your house is, storage is always an issue.

I’m less of a minimalist, and more of an ‘I want to keep it all, but have it tidied away’ kind of person. Mess makes me twitch, but I don’t like to throw things out – I mean, what if one day I have a sudden urge to see what my phone bill came to in June of 2005??!! (Ok, I’m not quite that bad, but I do keep lots of things) I’m a fan of the quirky and unexpected, so if you go snooping around my house you’ll find a few surprises and I thought I’d share a couple with you.

We’ll start with my office – it’s where a few of my favourite things are (and yes, I’m trying desperately not to burst into a Julie Andrews song. And failing.) My office started out as a (very small) spare room. My super clever husband and his father built me this fantastic storage unit. Not only is it the perfect size for both the room and my stock, every time I look at it I’m reminded about how lucky I am to have such a supportive family. And to me, that’s what design is about – surrounding yourself with things that, no matter how ‘everyday’ they are, strike a chord and resonate with you on some level.

office storage2

Taking this into consideration, I try to have things that mean something to me around me. My work desk was filling up with pens. I rescued this old camera case and voila….desk storage!

pens n things
I love to wrap all the purchases from dorothy nada before sending them out, and my wrapping desk (another bespoke build courtesy of husband and father-in-law) was rapidly becoming over-run with wrapping paper, gift tags, scissors and cellotape. Another rescue – this vintage suitcase found its way home with me and gets constant comments.

wrapping table
Moving out of the office now, and into the living room. I’m a complete sloth and one of my favourite things to do is snuggle up on the couch under a blanket reading or watching TV – the down side of this is abandoned blankets discarded over the arms of the sofa which makes me feel slightly unhinged. Clearly I needed a blanket storage idea, but it took me forever to stumble across one in our local second hand shop – an old ammo box. With our family’s involvement in the military, it’s a nice little nod to our ‘culture’ while keeping all the blankets out of the way.

ammo box

Storage isn’t all about shelving units and wicker baskets (although they definitely have their place). You can have interesting and useful storage, and it doesn’t have to be expensive!

What are your storage solutions?

xx

4 thoughts on “On Storage….Part I

Leave a Reply

