Blog a Day for May 2015….your morning routine

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not much of a morning person. It takes me a fair while to get moving in the morning, and I’ve always been a ‘5 more minute’ snuggling under the duvet kind of gal.

‘They’ all say that you become a morning person when you have children, but I’m living proof that it’s just not true. I’ve got friends who are up at 5am to go for runs and walks, and friends who get up before everyone else in the house to get jobs and chores done in peace and quiet. The idea of solitude and silence is tempting, although not as tempting as my cozy bed and an extra hour or so of sleep.

Anyway, we’ve got mornings down pat in our house. The fact that I’m such an anti-morning mother has meant that my children are fairly adept at getting themselves ready – they can get their breakfasts (with vague supervision from their bleary-eyed, manky robe wearing mama clutching her mug of tea like it’s a life raft). Lunchboxes are filled on autopilot (although if Mr Wonderful is home, he usually makes these), and the children all get themselves dressed, teeth brushed, beds made, curtains opened and school bags sorted in no time flat.

While they are doing their jobs, I clean up the kitchen and sit down to finish my cup of tea while doing a quick facebook/email/news site check, and then I lumber down to our bathroom and throw myself through the shower, somehow emerging dressed and with makeup on. (I have a vague plan to show you my slight makeup obsession one day – I think I’m a makeup hoarder)

We’re all ready and out the door by about 8.20am, although the act of getting into the car with shoes and bags seems to take longer than the rest of the morning put together. I drop two and school, and the other to kindy on his days and fight the impulse to do a freedom dance at the gates.

What does your morning consist of? Is it manic or organised?

xo

2 thoughts on “Blog a Day for May 2015….your morning routine

  1. I’m with you on not being a morning person. I’ve been starting work half an hour earlier, but only managing to get out of bed 10 minutes earlier, therefore it’s a manic rush in the morning. I really need to get to bed earlier so I can get up earlier. At the moment, I’m hitting the snooze button twice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

